Charter Commission 2020-2022

MEETINGS & AGENDAS


Agenda and remote access instructions can be found in the Agenda Center


ABOUT


At the July 14, 2020 Election, City of Portland voters approved creating a Charter Commission to open up review of the City Charter

On August 10, 2020, the City Council approved the appointment of three members to serve on the Charter Commission and established that nine additional members elected by Portland voters will serve on the Commission. On October 5, 2020, the Council set the election date for when voters will choose the remaining members. 

Voters elected the remaining nine members of the Commission using Ranked Choice Voting on June 8, 2021.

Public comment can be sent to charter@portlandmaine.gov. 

​members


Dory Waxman (appointed by Council)
dwaxman@portlandmaine.gov

Michael Kebede (appointed by Council) (Chair)
mkebede@portlandmaine.gov

Peter Eglinton (appointed by Council) (Secretary)
peglinton@portlandmaine.gov

Shay Stewart Bouley (District 1) (Vice-Chair)
sstewartbouley@portlandmaine.gov

Robert O'Brien (District 2)
rjobrien@portlandmaine.gov

Zack Barowitz (District 3)
zbarowitz@portlandmaine.gov

Marcques Houston (District 4)
mhouston@portlandmaine.gov

Ryan Lizanecz (District 5)
rlizanecz@portlandmaine.gov

Catherine Buxton (At-Large)
cbuxton@portlandmaine.gov

Marpheen Chann (At-Large)
mchann@portlandmaine.gov

Nasreen Sheikh Yousef (At-Large)
nsheikhyousef@portlandmaine.gov

Pat Washburn (At-Large)
pwashburn@portlandmaine.gov
  1. Portland Charter Commission plans public hearing July 28

    The Portland Charter Commission will hold an online public hearing July 28, 2021, at 6 p.m., to gather opinions and suggestions from city residents about their work. Read on...
View All

OTHER RESOURCES